Did you know that your version of Internet Explorer is out of date?
To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend downloading one of the below web browsers.

Internet Explorer 9, Firefox, Chrome, or Safari.

Dave Miller

Arthur « Dave » Miller est un Mi’kmaq de 39 ans et un activiste vivant avec le VIH. Après plusieurs vies passées à faire plusieurs choses différentes dans plusieurs régions du Canada, il vit et travaille maintenant à Halifax en Nouvelle-Écosse. Il soutient plusieurs organisations VIH qui opèrent à travers le Canada, tant comme bénévole que dans le cadre de travail rémunéré. Au fil des ans, Dave a siégé à long terme au conseil d’administration de nombreuses organisations nationales VIH et a travaillé collectivement avec d’autres personnes vivant avec le VIH. En effet, son travail en tant qu’activiste VIH l’a gardé occupé ; il a occupé différents rôles au sein d’une variété d’organisations nationales œuvrant sur divers aspects liés au VIH.

Dave coordonne actuellement un projet national sur l’inclusion des genres avec un accent particulier sur l’expérience transsexuelle pour le Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network. Il a aussi coordonné la 6e préconférence autochtone internationale sur le VIH et le sida à Durban en Afrique du Sud, en collaboration avec l’International Indigenous Working Group on HIV and AIDS.

Dave est un gars amusant et libre qui se met autant qu’il le peut au service des communautés dont il fait partie ; c’est un bâtisseur de communautés. Il n’est donc pas surprenant qu’il soit particulièrement fier de s’être vu décerner le prix du bénévole de l’année pour le Canada atlantique en 2014 et le prix du bénévole de la Municipalité régionale de Halifax en 2016.

Tout en s’affairant à ses différentes activités bénévoles et rémunérées, il continue d’éduquer sur le VIH à l’échelle locale lorsqu’il le peut et fournit du soutien à ceux qui en ont besoin. Dave a suivi les formations ASIST et Safe Talk. Il est ouvert à toute nouvelle occasion d’aider.

Did you know that your version of Internet Explorer is out of date?
To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend downloading one of the below web browsers.

Internet Explorer 9, Firefox, Chrome, or Safari.

Dave Miller

Arthur ‘Dave’ Miller is a 39-year-old Mi’kmaq HIV+ activist. After living many lives doing many different things in many different parts of Canada, he lives and works from Halifax, Nova Scotia and supports many AIDS service organizations across Canada in both paid and volunteer capacities. Enduring Board positions in various national AIDS organizations as well as working collectively with others living with HIV – Dave’s work as an HIV activist has kept him busy over the years and includes roles with a variety of national organizations focused on various aspects of HIV.

Currently, Dave is coordinating a national project for the Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network about gender inclusivity with a special focus on Trans experiences; he was also Co-Coordinator for the 6th International Indigenous Pre-Conference on HIV and AIDS in Durban, South Africa with the International Indigenous Working Group on HIV and AIDS. 

Dave is a fun, free-spirited guy who serves his communities in whatever way he can – he is a community builder. For these reasons, it is not surprising he is most proud of his 2014 Atlantic Canada Volunteer of the Year award and 2016 Halifax Regional Municipality Volunteer Award.

While juggling all of his volunteer and paid work he continues to do HIV education locally as he can, and provides support to those in need. Dave has ASIST Training and Safe Talk Training. He welcomes all new opportunities to help.