Did you know that your version of Internet Explorer is out of date?
To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend downloading one of the below web browsers.

Internet Explorer 9, Firefox, Chrome, or Safari.

Patience Magagula

Mère de deux garçons et d’une fille, je suis une survivante de longue date ; je vis avec le VIH depuis plus de 10 ans. J’ai travaillé bénévolement pour l’Immigrant Services Society, offrant du soutien à des personnes nouvellement arrivées des quatre coins de la planète, ainsi que pour l’Armée du Salut.

Après avoir été témoins des effets du VIH sur la communauté africaine, un groupe de cinq personnes dont je faisais partie ont fondé l’Afro-Canadian Positive Network en Colombie-Britannique en novembre 2009.

Ma passion est de servir les personnes réfugiées et immigrantes qui vivent avec le VIH/sida. Je suis une militante VIH, je me dédie à améliorer la vie des PVVIH. J’apporte aussi une gamme de différentes approches de travail au milieu VIH.

J’ai complété les trois cours de leadership du Pacific Aids Network, le cours pour les paires du Positive Women’s Network (niveaux un et deux), le certificat en développement de capacité communautaire du Simon Fraser University et le certificat en développement communautaire du Langara College.

J’ai travaillé avec les étudiants et étudiantes du University of British Colombia comme facilitatrice pendant huit ans. J’ai siégé au conseil d’administration de la Société canadienne du sida en tant qu’administratrice régionale de 2014 à 2016 et je siège au conseil d’administration du Pacific Aids Network depuis octobre 2015. J’ai complété un diplôme en travail communautaire au Discovery Community College en juin 2016.

J’ai été présidente du conseil d’administration de l’Afro-Canadian Positive Network de Colombie-Britannique pendant trois ans. Je donne des présentations dans des cours au University of British Columbia et au Simon Fraser University. Certificat de la formation des formateurs à AIDS Vancouver 2012. Facilitatrice pour les paires au Positive Women’s Network. Membre communautaire du Réseau national sur le VIH/sida et les communautés noires, africaines et caraïbéennes (CHABAC).

Je suis actuellement directrice générale de l’Afro-Canadian Positive Network de Colombie-Britannique.

Did you know that your version of Internet Explorer is out of date?
To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend downloading one of the below web browsers.

Internet Explorer 9, Firefox, Chrome, or Safari.

Patience Magagula

I am a mother of two boys and one girl and am a long-time survivor of more than 10 years LWHIV. I volunteered at Immigrant Services Society supporting newcomers from all over the world as well as at the Salvation Army.

After witnessing the effects of HIV in the African community, as a group of five we founded Afro- Canadian Positive Network of BC in November 2009.

My passion is serving Refugees and Immigrants LWHIV/AIDS.  I’m an HIV advocate committed to improving the lives of PLWHIV. I also bring a diverse range of approaches to the work of HIV.

I have taken all the three leadership training courses through Pacific Aids Network. Also taken the Peer-to-Peer training (Levels one and two) at Positive Women’s Network. Completed Community Capacity Building at Simon Fraser University. Certificate in Community Development at Langara College.

Worked with UBC students as a facilitator for eight years. Served as a regional director at Canadian Aids Society for two years from 2014-2016.  Board member at Pacific Aids Network October 2015 to present.  Completed a Diploma in CSW at Discovery Community College in June 2016.

Served as a Board Chair for three years at Afro-Canadian Positive Network of BC. I speak to classes at the University of British Columbia and Simon Fraser University. Train the trainer certificate at AIDS Vancouver 2012. Peer- to-Peer facilitator at Positive Women’s Network. Committee member at the Canadian HIV/AIDS Black, African and Caribbean Network (CHABAC).

Currently serving as Executive Director at Afro-Canadian Positive Network of BC.